headerThe word, Web, was first used to describe a woven fabric. Thus, a webster was someone who wove the fabric, and a cobweb was the fabric woven by a cobbe—from Old English, atorcoppe, meaning poison head, that is, a spider.

Website Award

Each year, the British Columbia Historical Federation offers an award for the best Website about BC history.

The award is meant to honour individual or group volunteer efforts in writing and presentation. Government, academic, and professionally produced institutional sites are not eligible.
  • The recipient must be a resident of British Columbia for the year prior to the award year.
  • The prize ($250) is to recognize individual or group initiative. As part of this, the website must be developed and maintained primarily through volunteer labour.
  • The site must be in existence for at least 12 months prior to judging; and it must be active at the time the award is presented.
  • The site should be somewhat permanent in nature and the creator must be willing to have it archived.
  • The Web site does not have to be hosted in British Columbia. It may be hosted either by a private Internet Service Provider (ISP) or by an educational institution.
  • Decisions of contest judges, to be selected from a volunteer base by the Historical Federation, are final and not subject to appeal to the Federation Executive.
  • BCHF reserves the right not to award a prize in a given year should applications not be of sufficient quality.

Nominations must be received by December 31 of each calendar year.

The winning Website will be posted in the British Columbia Historical Federation’s publications.

To make a nomination fill out the online nomination form

For further information about making nominations contactWebsite Award

Historical Note
In 1999 David Mattison of Victoria suggested that the Federation sponsor a contest for the best Website about BC history. The British Columbia Historical Federation endorsed this proposal and together with Mattison a jointly sponsored award is offered annually.

• 2014 Eve Lazarus Every Place Has A Story
• 2013 Jack Brown Surrey History
• 2012 Richard Rowberry A History of John Houston
• 2011 Walter Volovsek Trails in Time
• 2010 Jack Bennest BC Radio History
• 2009 No award
• 2008 Fred Braches Slumach: a website for all who prefer facts over fiction
• 2007 OCS staff/volunteers, J. Kent (design) Old Cemeteries Soc. of Victoria
• 2006 Donald M. Wilson The Virtual Crowsnest Highway
• 2005 No award
• 2004 Herb Daum Cassiar ... do you remember?
• 2003 B. Fitzpatrick (content), K. Lee (design) BC History of Nursing Group
• 2002 Mark McKenzie (content), C. Jones (design) Samson V Maritime Mus.
• 2001 Christopher J. Garrish British Columbia License Plates: A History
• 2000 Floyd Low and Patricia A. Rogers 54th (Kootenay) Battalion, CEF
• 1999 Mark Nelson Prince George Oral History Group